h1

project Knit!-II

July 11, 2008

This is the most recent update of my Knitting Frenzy! Though I’d still want to know how to make those cute mini things that are usually done by Crochet… I’d better make most of what I’ve just started first.

I haven’t really completed my Gloves set that I’ve mentioned in project Knit!-I simply because I was without the Yarn needle to sew the rib together. And lo and behold, just when I needed it…

 

 Well, when Mum saw the leaflet in the mail before I did, she went, “So are you going? If not, I’ll go ahead without you. Pass me the VIP card ya!” Lol!

So away we went on the 9th at PS at about 1pm, after people were done with their lunch, or so we thought…

Yes, the queue was everywhere! Every single counter had a line tailing behind somewhere somehow. No, lunch time did not affect it somewhat. Instead, most of the customers were like household people, seldom seen in the mall at that hour. That’s the hilarious thing about it.

Anyway, we started getting busy finding useful things we could deal with. Mum was busy finding soft towels, cloth patches, pencils, more cloths, packages to make soft toys! Yes, all because Sis had bought this cool Soft Toy book at a booksale at Kino some time back. So, while I’m busy with knitting, Mum and Sis are busy making dolls. I can tell you the result is so adorable, you would want to make one yourself too! Well, at least that is the response from the friends Sis has given them to.

I bought… more kits! Only nice ones I did. Well not exactly all are kits. There were some design patterns that came with the wool/yarn balls’ paper wrappings. Those are like free patterns to try out with the designed wool/yarn. I bought a couple myself!

 

In total, there’re 3 patterns:
1) [Intermediate] Camouflage Multi Kit: 1 Beret, 1 Back Pack, 1 Scarf, 1 Bum Bag, 1 Dog Coat on
    10.0mm needles
2) [Moda Vera trifle Colour No: 02] 4 Balls for 1 Trifle Scarf on 9.0mm needles
3) [Moda Vera flurry Colour No: 303] 5 Balls for 1 Flurry Poncho on 15.0mm needles

Also bought:
4) 2 Sewing Needles Size 13 (which matches the Yarn/Darn Needle size required)
5) Row Counter for Sizes 5.50-7.50mm (since I always lose count of rows, but there wasn’t any bigger)

A side buy was:
6) A pair of PVC Coasters

All the knitting accessories are by Birch. I have a preference for the Plastic Knitting Needles by them because they’re in different colours! Easy differentiation and they’re kept in plastic holders, except for my first 2 sizes: 5.5mm & 6.0mm.

It was a steal-buy for me (though I haven’t paid Mum yet :X)!

Last night, I was in a dilemma of which to start on first! When you have too many choices, that’s what happens I guess. So I’d thought I’d start with the Kit. But there were a whole lot of new abbreviations mentioned in the Kit that I wasn’t exposed to yet. So, last night was Youtube night again. I managed to compile a list of links to guide me along especially since this Kit involves multiple colours. Interesting Kit I must say. I was so eager to start on the Bum Bag, but I didn’t know how to make button holes. Another problem was also increasing/decreasing a stitch.

At least from what I know now, I can only start on the Beret, without the button holes, but with colours and different number of stitches. So I only just started 2 rows off the Beret, and forgot how to switch colours to the next…

July 11, 2008 at 14:47hrs
To be continued…

Leave a Reply

